IEBC holds elections in Mombasa, Kakamega, six other places

for Tv47 Digital August 29, 2022, 04:33 AM
Hassan Omar (UDA) and Abdulswamad Shariff (ODM) Mombasa
Mombasa County gubernatorial candidates Hassan Omar (UDA) and Abdulswamad Shariff (ODM). Polls open at 6am and close at 5pm. PHOTOS/COURTESY

In Summary

  • Voters will also go to the polls in Kacheliba, Pokot South, Rongai, Kitui Rural (MP), and Nyaki West and Kwa Njenga (MCA). 
  • The elections were postponed due to a variety of reasons. Polls open at 6am and close at 5pm. 

Voters in eight places around the country troop to the polls from 6am today to elect their next leaders for the respective positions. 

Elections will be held in Kakamega and Mombasa counties (Governors), Kacheliba, Pokot South, Rongai, Kitui Rural (Members of Parliament), and Nyaki West (in Imenti South constituency) and Kwa Njenga (in Nairobi County) for Members of the County Assembly.   

The elections had been postponed by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission due to printing errors on the ballot papers, and other issues. 

Kitui Rural

Yesterday, the Kitui Rural constituency Returning Officer Winfred Nduti confirmed that all materials had been delivered to the polling stations in readiness for the plebiscite. 

The constituency has 55,000 registered voters spread out in 157 polling stations. The two candidates battling it out are incumbent David Mwalika Mboni (Wiper) and former MP Charles Nyamai (United Democratic Alliance). 

Rongai Constituency

In Rongai, Nakuru County, voting materials had by Sunday, August 28, reached all the 197 polling stations. The constituency has 84,625 registered voters. The three candidates are Raymond Moi of KANU, UDA's Paul Chebor and Luka Kigen of CCM.

Pokot South

In Pokot South, the 58,406 registered voters will choose who between Kenya Union Party's  David Pkosing, UDA's Simon Kalekem and independent candidate James Teko will represent them in the 13th parliament. The constituency has 208 polling stations.


In Kacheliba, West Pokot, UDA's Mark Lomunokol, Kenya Union Party's Titus Lotee and John Lodinyo of KANU will jostle for a majority of the 51,146 votes. 

Mombasa and Kakamega

The gubernatorial races in the two counties are a battle between UDA and Azimio La Umoja. In Mombasa, it's a two-horse race pitting UDA's Hassan Omar against the Azimio candidate Abdulswamad Sharrif who is running on an ODM party ticket. 

In Kakamega, the race has seven candidates. The two presumed front runners are ODM's Fernandes Barasa and ANC's Cleophas Malala. Others are Cyrus Jirongo (UDP), Suleiman Sumba (KANU), Samuel Omukoko (Maendeleo Democratic Party), Michael Osundwa and Austine Opitso (independent). The County has 844,551 registered voters.

Today is a public holiday in these areas that will be holding elections.  

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Comment below

Latest Stories

Recommended Stories