Supreme Court orders IEBC to allow Raila open 15 ballot boxes for inspection, scrutiny and recount

for Tv47 Digital August 30, 2022, 02:29 PM
Azimio La Umoja Presidential Candidate
Azimio La Umoja Presidential Candidate Raila Odinga casts his votes at Kibera Old School polling station on August 9. PHOTO/FILE

In Summary

  • Supreme Court orders IEBC to allow Azimio La Umoja to recount votes in 15 polling stations
  • The recount exercise will be conducted in the next 48 hours

The Supreme Court has ordered the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to let Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition open 15 ballot boxes in contention for inspection, scrutiny and recount.

The Apex court ordered that the exercise be conducted within the next 48 hours in the presence of two agents from both Kenya Kwanza and Azimio La Umoja.

"That the IEBC does deliver all ballot boxes in Bomet, Nandi, Kiambu, Kericho, Kirinyaga and Nyeri counties for inspection, scrutiny, recount and such terms as it deems fit."

"Each Party shall be represented by two agents during the exercises above and they shall at times be under the supervision of the Registrar of the court and her staff. The Registrar shall file her report by 5 pm on 1st September 2022 and avail copies to all parties," court documents read in part.

The said stations are Nandi Hills, Sinendeti Primary School in Nandi, Belgut, Kapsuser and Chepkutum Primary Schools in Kericho County; Jomvi, Mikindani, and Ministry of Water Tanks Polling Stations in Mombasa County.

Others are Mvita, Majengo and Mvita Primary Schools in Mombasa County; Tinderet CONMO, in Nandi County; Jarok, Gathanji and Kiheo Primary School Polling in Nyandarua County.

Further, the court ordered IEBC to avail the full KPMG Report on the Register of Voters, a full audit report on the technology used, and the report of the vendor, due diligence, and technology used in the General Election on 9th August 2022.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Comment below

Latest Stories

Recommended Stories