Kenya Kwanza unveils its pick for House leadership positions

for Tv47 Digital September 17, 2022, 05:40 PM
Kenya Kwanza unveils House Leadership positions; Kimani Ichungwa, Sylvanus Osoro picked for NA Majority Leader and Chief Whip respectively
President William Ruto in conversation with DP Rigathi Gachagua. PHOTO / WIlliam Ruto

President William Ruto on Saturday, September 17 unveiled the Kenya Kwanza Alliance line up for House leadership positions. 

Ruto unveiled the line-up during a Kenya Kwanza Parliamentary Group meeting in Naivasha, Nakuru County.

In the National Assembly, the coalition has settled on the following:

  • Kimani Ichungwah - Majority Leader
  • Owen Baya - Deputy Majority Leader
  • Sylvanus Osoro - Chief Whip 
  • Naomi Waqo - Deputy Chief Whip

In the Senate, the following names have been put forward for leadership positions:

  • Aaron Cheruiyot - Majority Leader
  • Tabitha Karanja - Deputy Majority Leader 
  • Bonny Khalwale - Chief Whip 
  • Stephen Lelegwe - Deputy Chief Whip 

The opposition - Azimio La Umoja One Kenya insists that it is legally and legitimately the majority coalition in the National Assembly.

"For the avoidance of doubt, the Azimio OKA coalition party is legally and legitimately the majority coalition in the National Assembly. This is not a matter for determination by any individual or office. It is simple arithmetic. So to settle this matter and put the record straight once and for all, MPs from the Azimio coalition party have been properly advised to take up majority roles and responsibilities in and out of the National Assembly chambers," Kalonzo said while unveiling Azimio's line-ip.

However, Kenya Kwanza say that they are majority and therefore will occupy the majority leader positions in the bicameral Parliament.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Comment below

Latest Stories

Recommended Stories