NTSA reveals most dangerous days to be on Kenyan roads

for Tv47 Digital November 18, 2022, 08:08 AM
NTSA on road crashes
The scene of a past road crash. NTSA says 17,550 people were involved in accidents as at October 30, 2022. PHOTO/FILE

In Summary

  • The World Day of Remembrance for road traffic victims will be marked on Sunday, November, 20.
  • As at October 30, 2022, 3,924 people in Kenya had lost their lives in road accidents. 

The National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA) says most fatal road traffic crashes occur from Friday to Sunday 5.00 pm to 10.00 pm. 

In a statement prior to the World Day of Remembrance for road traffic victims [to be marked on Sunday, November 20], the Authority added that the peak hour for accidents is 8.00pm. 

"This is largely attributed to reduced enforcement (of traffic laws) during these times, high volumes of traffic and pedestrians/rush hour, and pedestrians crossing at the non-designated or un-safe areas," says NTSA. 

Others reasons are poor lighting at the pedestrian crossing points and major highways, driver fatigue, drink-driving and speeding especially on highways. 

At the same time the Authority revealed that as at October 30 this year, there had been 17,550 crash victims. Of these, 3,924 died, 7,982 suffered serious injuries while 5,644 escaped with minor injuries. This is an increase of 5.46% over the same period last year. 

About the World Day of Remembrance 

The World Day of Remembrance for road traffic victims is a global advocacy day for road traffic injury prevention. The day is intended to respond to the great need of road crash victims for public recognition of their loss and suffering. It's specific objectives include acknowledgement of the crucial work of the emergency services, drawing attention to the "generally trivial legal response to culpable road deaths and injuries" and advocacy for better support for road traffic victims and victim families. 

NTSA plans to hold commemorative activities in various towns in Kenya. Some of the activities will be in Nairobi, Mombasa, Nakuru, Kisumu, Nyeri, Embu, Meru, Kericho, Eldoret, Kisii, Thika, Machakos, Narok, Laikipia, Baringo, Kakamega, Kitale, Garissa, and Voi. 

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Comment below

Latest Stories

Recommended Stories