JLAC recommends removal of the Four IEBC Commissioners

for Tv47 Digital December 01, 2022, 12:03 PM
Four IEBC IEBC Commissioners from left, Justus Nyagaya, Juliana Cherera, Irene Masit and Francis Wanderi speaking in Serena Hotel on August 15. PHOTO |FILE

In Summary

  • The JLAC had 14 days to assess the evidence submitted by the four petitioners against the four IEBC Commissioners to see if it meets the threshold for Parliament to compel the president to form a tribunal.

    • The committee has now recommended the setting up of a tribunal to probe the conduct of the four commissioners. In the meantime, the MPs want President William Ruto to suspend them.

    The National Assembly Justice and Legal Affairs Committee (JLAC) has recommended the setting up of a tribunal to investigate the conduct of the four IEBC Commissioners.

    As a result, the committee - chaired by Tharaka MP George Gitonga Murugara - now wants President William Ruto to suspend the four dissenting commissioners awaiting the verdict of the tribunal.

    The four are; Vice-Chairperson Juliana Cherera, and commissioners Irene Masit, Francis Wanderi and and Justus Nyang'aya.

    Juliana and company are accused of gross misconduct and incompetence during the just concluded August 9 2022 General Elections as well as gross violation of the Constitution.

    They rejected the August 9 2022 Presidential Election results announced by IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati.

    The petitions

    The committee had received four petitions, all seeking the removal of the four commissioners.

    The first petition by the Republican Party accused the four of failing to "promote public confidence in the office that they hold, and brought dishonor to the nation and lack of dignity to the office contrary to article 73 (1) (a)."

    The second petition by Dennis Nthumbi wanted the four kicked out of the electoral agency on grounds of serious violation of the constitution and the law, gross misconduct, and incompetence.

    Thumbi also alleged that the four accepted the proposal to alter the results of the elections to subvert the will of the people of Kenya contrary to article 10 (73) (b) of the constitution, Sections 9, 26 & 30 of the IEBC Act.

    Members of the committee from the Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition boycotted the process, arguing that JLAC had no jurisdiction over the matter of the four commissioners.

    - Advertisement -

    - Advertisement -

    Comment below

    Latest Stories

    Recommended Stories