President Ruto's Principal Secretaries to be sworn in today

for Tv47 Digital December 02, 2022, 08:51 AM
From left to right: Jonathan Mueke, Prof. Edward Kisiang'ani and Nixon Korir are among the 52 who have been appointed by President William Ruto as Permanent Secretaries to various Ministries.

In Summary

  • On November 16, National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetangula was forced to temporarily suspended the ongoing vetting exercise after the High Court issued an order halting the process.

  • Employment and Labour Relations Court on Tuesday, November 29 dismissed the consolidated cases, with Justice Nduma Nderi ruling that they were filed prematurely.

President William Ruto has appointed all the 51 Principal Secretary nominees who will help him deliver on his campaign pledges to Kenyans.

The gazette notice dated December 1 comes hours after the National Assembly on Thursday, December 1 approved them after the end of their vetting by various departmental committees.

State House spokesperson Hussein Mohamed says that the PSs will be sworn into office today morning.

Out of the 44 PSs who served under former President Uhuru Kenyatta, six have been retained in Ruto's administration. They include Dr. Belio Kipsang, Dr. Chris Kiptoo, Charles Hinga, Harry Kimutai, Julius Korir and Peter Tum.

The process of appointing new PSs had initially faced a hurdle after a court suspended the vetting exercise thanks to a petition filed by the Law Society of Kenya (LSK), challenging the legality of the nominees.

LSK had argued that the list of nominees had not met the threshold of two-third gender rule. It also argued that the list had lacked regional balance, dominated by two regions in a country of more than 40 tribes.

However, Justice Nduma Nderi dismissed the petition ruling that it had been filed prematurely.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Comment below

Latest Stories

Recommended Stories